April 26, 2019 by Sonia Ribas

No your head if you cringe every time your yoga teacher mentions the “chakras”. You’re not alone! Let’s take a quick look at what they are and why they matter.

Literally speaking, the word “chakra” from Sanskrit translates to “wheel” or “disk,” but references a spiritual energy center within the body. There are 7 chakras along the spine and through the neck and the crown of your head. Each chakra corresponds to specific organs as well as physical, emotional, psychological and spiritual states of being. It is believed that the state of our chakras influences all areas of our life.

Energy (also called “Prana”) flows through the 7 chakras, but sometimes may encounter some blockages, which prevent it from free-flowing. Depending on where the blockages are, some foods, lifestyle tips and yoga postures will help open the specific chakras and restore Prana flow.

Blocked energy in our seven chakras can often lead to illness or discomfort at many levels, so it’s important to understand what each chakra represents and what we can do to keep this energy flowing freely.

“Here’s a quick overview of the 7 chakras”

  1. Root Chakra — Located at the base of the spine, in tailbone area. Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded. It is linked to survival issues such as financial independence, money and food.
  2. Sacral Chakra — Located in lower abdomen, about two inches below the navel and two inches in. Represents our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences. It is linked to sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure and sexuality.
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra — Located in upper abdomen in the stomach area. Represents our ability to be confident and in control of our lives. When it’s blocked, emotional issues such as lack of self-confidence arise.
  4. Heart Chakra — Located at the center of the chest, just above the heart. Represents our ability to love and is linked to joy and inner peace.
  5. Throat Chakra — Located in the heart. It represents our ability to communicate. It is linked to self-expression of feelings and the truth.
  6. Third Eye Chakra — Located in the forehead between the eyes. It represents our ability to focus on and see the big picture and it linked to intuition, imagination, wisdom and the ability to think and make decisions.
  7. Crown Chakra — Located at the very top of the head. It represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually, what is often called “enlighted”.

Now that we have a basic understanding of the different chakras, let’s explore each and every one of them in different articles. We will look at how to heal them and what yoga postures that help cleanse each individual chakra. Browse for the different posts in the blog to keep reading.

Yours in spirituality,

Sonia Ribas

Sonia Ribas

Sonia is a health coach, yoga teacher, prenatal specialist and a mother of 3. Learn more about Sonia by visiting her website and Instagram account.