April 26, 2019 by Sonia Ribas

In another post we covered what the chakras are and what they represent (Read “What Are The 7 Chakras And Why Do They Matter?”).

In this post, we will focus specifically on the Root Chakra.

  • Also known as: Muladhara Chakra. The word Muladhara is a combination of two Sanskrit words: “Mula,” which means “root” and “Adhara,” which means “support” or “base.”
  • Location: base of the spine, in tailbone area. Covers the pelvic floor and the first three vertebrae.
  • Color: red
  • What it represents: I AM. Known as the first chakra, it represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded, our sense of security and survival. It’s the basis for it all.
  • Linked to: survival issues such as financial independence, money and food. It’s also connected to whatever you use to ground yourself, including basic needs such as food, water, shelter, and safety, as well as your more emotional needs such as feeling safe.
  • You have a balanced root chakra when: you feel stable, supportive, safely connected and financially solid. You find contentment, happiness, and inner peace. You have compassion and patience towards yourself and those around you.
  • You have a blocked root chakra when: you experience anxiety disorders, fears or nightmares. You feel lethargic, defeated and are unable to get things done. Physically, the first chakra is associated with problems in the colon, with the bladder, with elimination, or with lower back, legs or feet issues.
  • Healing foods: Ground root vegetables like potatoes and carrots; red colored foods like apples and beets; hot spices like red cayenne peppers and Tabasco sauce; animal proteins like red meat and eggs.
  • Healing yoga poses: poses that make you feel grounded and create space and energy flow in your lower spine. When you are in a pose, try to breathe deeply and set an intention that helps you build your confidence and feel grounded. Ideas can be “I am supported”, “I trust myself”, “I feel grounded”, “I let go”.

“Here are my favorite yoga poses to stimulate the root chakra”

  • Sukhasana: Feel both seating bones pressing equally down, spine is straight and shoulders are relaxed. Close your eyes and feel the earth beneath you, supporting you.
  • Balasana: Separate your knees wide and rest your forehead on the floor. Let your whole body relax, while maintaining a straight spine.  Notice how it feels to be completely supported by the ground beneath you, and soak in this balance of surrender and support.
  • Mountain pose: Both balancing and relaxing, mountain pose allows us to feel centered and focused in the present moment. Feel the earth beneath you supporting and providing the nutrition you need.
  • Warrior II. Virabhadrasana means “fierce warrior,” so this is the best pose to empower you to get stronger and build determination.
  • Malasana: This pose brings you close to the earth, and helps calm the mind and spirit. Press down with your feet as if you’re growing roots into the earth. This will help you feel grounded and solid.
  • Bridge pose. This pose allows your feet to be firmly rooted to the earth, while stimulating your root chakra and liberating some of its energy.
  • Savasana. Let yourself be fully supported by the earth beneath you, and let go of all tension in your body.

As its name evokes, the Root Chakra is the basis of it all. When you feel insecure or anxious, always start by balancing this first chakra and you’ll experience a solid basis that will allow you to experience confidence and happiness. When the energy of the root chakra is flowing well, you feel grounded, yet free as a bird.

Happy grounding!

Sonia Ribas

Sonia Ribas

Sonia is a health coach, yoga teacher, prenatal specialist and a mother of 3. Learn more about Sonia by visiting her website and Instagram account.